Sunrise reflections

Monday morning woke me way too early. 5 a.m. too early. I had to get from south Atlanta to my job in south Georgia – a 2.5 hour drive without traffic – by at least 8:30 a.m. This means a 5 a.m. wake up call. I am not an early riser by nature. My favorite time of the day is about 9:30 p.m. It’s about the time my muse finally wakes up. (I blame her for a lot of things.)

As a result, I’m cranky in the morning; downright mean sometimes if I’m messed with – and this includes a 5 a.m. wake up call. That being said, I had a wake up call of another sort as I drove the roughly 120 miles, the first hour of it in the dark with bright lights of other southbound drivers glaring at me and my bleary eyes. 

The night before, I drove back to Atlanta from Camden, S.C., for my sister’s horse show, a 3.5 hour trek. We got in at a late 11:30 p.m., and I lost even more hours of sleep adding to the hour of daylight savings time the night before.

As I drove I thought, I do not want to be in this car, I don’t want to go to work, I don’t want to get up early, why do I have to get up early, shouldn’t I just call in sick, I only catch flights if I have to get up this early, if I have to get up this early shouldn’t I be going to Key West or Fiji or Alaska… The list of complaints went on until I started hearing another voice in answer to mine.

“You will be ok. You shouldn’t limit your expectations. Your expectations will be surpassed. Don’t put a limit on my expectations.”

And then the sun started rising on the horizon. At first it was a purple glow. The transition from dark to light was so soft and slow that I didn’t realize what I was seeing until the streaks of pink and light blue started filtering through the trees. I had been focusing on my thoughts and the lights of the cars around me that I was surprised by a sunrise. It sounds silly, but I haven’t seen a sunrise in a while. I had forgotten how glorious they are – and I’m so thankful for the reminder Monday morning. It was a perfect way to start a new week. A very stressful week.

As the sun rose higher, I discovered the world’s landmarks around me until finally the sun cast its shadow on the trees and hay bales and cows and abandoned homes and barns on the back roads of South Georgia, just miles from my office. I was startled and inspired by the beauty of early morning light.

God will always surpass your expectations.

One thought on “Sunrise reflections

Leave a Reply

