F is for Free

I love free things. I like buy one, get one free specials on anything from shoes to bacon. That being said I started thinking about some free things I use and like to do.

Here’s a few things you can get and do now for free (within reason and not counting gas or extra expenses like internet, late fees, etc.) I’m sure several will not be a surprise to some, but to me, I’m lost without these services.

– Picnik.com – I don’t have Photoshop at home, and I don’t know how to use Photoshop quite as well as I can Picnik. There’s a monthly fee for upgraded features, but the free version works just fine for me.

– Library. I love my local library. I like to check out from the “new arrivals” section. It’s like going to Barnes & Nobles but I don’t have to sit there with a coffee and covertly read the same book in a few visits. (I’ve never done this but have seen others do this… you know who you are.) You can also check out books on CD and popular DVDs. My sister has watched almost the entire Harry Potter series this way.

– Pandora.com – I currently have five different stations: Casting Crowns, Ella Fitzgerald, Francesca Battistelli, a classical station for Bach and Bob Marley. Depending on my current task at work, I change the station. Bach is for writing; Casting Crowns and Battistelli for high stress days. Bob Marley or jazz for designing brochures, flyers and updating websites.

– Netflix.com online viewing. Yes, it is a free feature of the monthly subscription for two unlimited DVDs. At least that’s how I look at it because I choose not to purchase cable and can watch my favorite TV shows at my leisure this way. I just finished watching 110 episodes (5 seasons) of Bones this way.

What are some of your favorite freebies? Let me know because I’m always looking for more!

Leave a Reply

