L is for Loved

How perfect is it to pass a birthday with friends, family and even God letting you know how loved you are? It may seem like a small thing, sending birthday wishes, but for me they were well timed. I’m not sure if it’s the number of this year’s birthday or if it’s just the season of a stressful life the last year, but I was on empty Monday. And, then Tuesday dawned with the precious gifts of birthday wishes, a decorated and beribboned office thanks to my co-workers and friends, and a crazy dream about diamonds in the rough. Thank you for all of the attention! If you have read that book about the Five Love Languages, you will understand when I say that my most prefered language is time spent together, or another’s time given to me.
32nd Birthday Dinner with some of my girls! 🙂

Tonight I’m watching “Pride and Predjudice”. An older television series, one that I’ve never seen before. It looks British and from the later 80s or early 90s. Thank goodness for Netflix. Again.

I’m amazed at the time period, or at least the one created by Jane Austen, where all a young lady had to do to make a man fall in love with her was to sing a charming but trite ballad while playing a small upright piano in a parlor surrounded by the most appropriate of society. Quaint and yes, so hopelessly romantic. If I lived back then, I’d likely already be married by now if my pairing with a suitable husband depended on my voice! (Humble, I am not.) However, it would require me  “in the presence of a suitable young man to smile and hold my tongue,” as the “smart” and “clever” Elizabeth Bennett was advised to do by her mother.

And, if at age 32, I wasn’t married, I’d be a spinster or an old maid, according to her world. (Ha!)

Storm clouds piled on top of each other the evening of my birthday, April 26.
For that opinion, I’m glad that in my world, I can work outside of my father’s home and not classify my worth through the conquest of a husband but though a career, but I am jealous of Jane’s era where it was acceptable to spend one’s day reading, visiting with friends, painting and sewing, and in Jane’s case, writing the day away. There’s so many days where I wish I could run away from my “career” life and rest for a while in my father’s home, protected by his household. Does this opinion make me anti-feminist? Oh well if it does. Blame it on the economy! Rising gas prices, grocery bills and energy costs combined with a stagnant salary have driven me to it.

Now, I wholeheartedly agree with Elizabeth Bennett’s reasons for marrying – consuming, satisfying romantic love and not society’s expectation. Like every “good”, hopeless romantic 30-something career girl, when love comes calling I’m praying for the kind God illustrates in the examples of Sarah and Abraham and Ruth and Boaz. And, let’s not forgot the inspiration of Song of Solomon. It’s my personal goal to one day identify wholly with the “Proverbs 31” woman. As I look back on the year and what I’ve learned, I’m  overwhelmed with joy that He calls me “Beloved”. I learned this while reading “Redeeming Love” over a span of 6 months in a fit of starts, stops and chewing… on the story. And, thanks to my early morning wake-up “call” that He also calls me his “exquisite” one – something I’m still trying to wrap my head and heart around.

Blackberries are still ripening, although I did find a black one! Tastes like an earthy sweet tart.

Thirty years from now when I celebrate my 62nd birthday, I pray that my family will rise up and call me “Blessed”.  It’s my birthday wish.

Epilogue: The Wife of Noble Character

 10 [b]A wife of noble character who can find?
   She is worth far more than rubies.
11 Her husband has full confidence in her
   and lacks nothing of value.
12 She brings him good, not harm,
   all the days of her life.
13 She selects wool and flax
   and works with eager hands.
14 She is like the merchant ships,
   bringing her food from afar.
15 She gets up while it is still night;
   she provides food for her family
   and portions for her female servants.
16 She considers a field and buys it;
   out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
17 She sets about her work vigorously;
   her arms are strong for her tasks.
18 She sees that her trading is profitable,
   and her lamp does not go out at night.
19 In her hand she holds the distaff
   and grasps the spindle with her fingers.
20 She opens her arms to the poor
   and extends her hands to the needy.
21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
   for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
22 She makes coverings for her bed;
   she is clothed in fine linen and purple.
23 Her husband is respected at the city gate,
   where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.
24 She makes linen garments and sells them,
   and supplies the merchants with sashes.
25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;
   she can laugh at the days to come.
26 She speaks with wisdom,
   and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
27 She watches over the affairs of her household
   and does not eat the bread of idleness.
28 Her children arise and call her blessed;
   her husband also, and he praises her:
29 “Many women do noble things,
   but you surpass them all.”
30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
   but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.
31 Honor her for all that her hands have done,
   and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

One thought on “L is for Loved

Leave a Reply

