Waiting

One day I will have enough space to raise chickens and grow a garden! Until then, here's a candid of me with one of mom's sweet chickens.
One day I will have enough space to raise chickens and grow a garden! Until then, here’s a candid of me with one of mom’s sweet chickens.

Waiting is hard. It doesn’t matter what you are waiting for but if you’ve sat and watched the clock, or you’ve been living with an unresolved prayer request, learning to wait is not an easy task.

I think the best thing to remember is to keep the faith. It reminds me of that song: “Don’t Stop. Believing!” I believe that God’s going to answer me. I believe that God’s heard me, and is still listening. I know that no matter how He decides to answer my prayer, His way is always better than what I can dream, plan or make happen by myself – and this is true no matter what or how I try to manipulate or spin it.

I’m waiting right now on God’s answer to a prayer for my husband and I to finally live together all the time. We live apart during the week. He commutes a total 3 hours of highway and interstate miles to and from work and I work 4.5 hours away from him. We do whatever it takes to see each other on the weekends. I will work 10 hour days and then drive the 4.5 hours to get home to him – like that Celine Dion song, “I’ll drive all niiiiiiight to get to you.” Yes. We do that drive. Every weekend. It’s exhausting on bodies, emotions and the wallet but we’re believing that God’s providing our needs and preparing us for the next blessing He has in store.

You see. We know that He is going to Bless Us. Why? Because He promises us that.

In the meantime, we are to be filled with Joy and peace. And we can get that too. We just have to seek Him first, in all things.

And, something that gets me every time I think about it – with a “Duh!” reaction. I can’t change this. I can’t change the outcome. I can’t make something happen that I want to happen. So why waste time worrying about it? Why waste energy and happiness stressing over it? Now, I have to remind myself of this A LOT, because I’m human and I get frustrated with the feeling of waiting for-ever, but the comfort of knowing that I have nothing to fear because God’s got it all under control is the peace that I need to pursue those areas of my life that bring me absolute joy!

I pray for you today as you struggle with the waiting, and I pray that God gives you peace and joy while you wait. I know He will if you ask Him. He’s good like that!

Romans 8:28: “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called according to his purpose.” (KJV)

Leave a Reply

