Lightened up Squash Casserole

20131002-195944.jpg

I found a large package of yellow squash on quick sale at my local grocery. The weather is starting to turn cooler here in the Upstate, at least in the mornings. I thought squash casserole would be the best option to use up the bulk of the squash.

I have eaten a lot of squash casseroles, mostly at church suppers prepared by precious ladies of the church body and laden with butter and cheese. I was craving those heavenly spoonfuls but knew that I didn’t need to succumb to a super-fattening dish. Especially with weigh-in looming tomorrow.

I found a similar recipe to those ladies’ and modified with Greek yogurt and panko bread crumbs. I used Italian seasoned panko because that’s what I had. Cheddar cheese was a must.

Here’s the recipe I modified from Food Network.

“Lightened Up” Squash Casserole

Here’s what you need:
1 small Vidalia onion, chopped (about 3/4 cup)
3 tbsp. chopped green onion
Water
2 pounds yellow squash, cut into 1/2 to 1-inch cubes
Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper
Pinch of ground red pepper
1/4 t. of garlic salt
1/2 cup light mayonnaise
1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
1 1/2 cups grated Cheddar cheese
1 cup Italian panko bread crumbs

Here’s what you do:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. In a heated skillet, cook the onions, adding a little water to prevent them from burning. Cook until lightly brown, adding more water, if needed. Add the squash, season with salt and pepper to taste, red pepper and garlic salt and cook until the squash is tender, about 8 to 10 minutes. Remove the skillet from the heat and stir in the mayonnaise, Greek yogurt, 3/4 cup cheese and panko. Pour the mixture into a greased baking dish. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake until the casserole is bubbly around edges, about 25 minutes. Serve it hot. Great as lunch leftovers.

I hope you enjoy! I sure did!

Leave a Reply

