Tomato-Squash Sauce

20140106-204940.jpg

I am doing my best to follow the Weight Watcher’s Simply Filling plan. After two devout years of tracking Points Plus, I needed a change in my diet, mainly because I have been spending way too many points on peanut butter and granola bars.
When I realized I could eat oats, brown rice, potatoes, and corn to satiety without having to dish out anywhere from 3-6 points per serving, and I realized how much more satisfied I was after a bowl of homemade oatmeal for breakfast (at no points) than after a rinky-dink granola bar, I was sold. I couldn’t even eat the whole bowl of oatmeal!
This is my take on marinara. I needed more chunk than just tomatoes, and I had five yellow “spinster” squash waiting their culinary debut in the crisper.

Here’s what you do:
Chop half a Vidalia sweet onion into small dice and sauté with three cloves smashed, chopped garlic and about on tablespoon olive oil. Medium high heat is good.
While onion and garlic sweat it out, chop five yellow squash (small-medium) to a medium chunk – add to pan. Sprinkle with Italian seasoning, salt and pepper to taste.
Cook until almost tender, add 9-10 halved Campari tomatoes. Cover and reduce heat to medium low.
About ten minutes later, check on the dish and if tomatoes are ready, they will easily pop and smash. Stir and heat over low simmer to cook off some of the water, about five minutes.

Now it is ready.
You can serve over some brown rice rotini or whole wheat pasta tossed with some fat free Feta. It would be good mixed with some ground chicken and brown rice, or topping a potato with some fat free Greek plain yogurt.
I made it two ways: my take on a chèvre chaud salad as a sandwich last night and mixed in tonight with a chili starter, black beans and a quick sauté of diced onion and carrot.

Chèvre Chaud Sandwich

20140106-205004.jpg

Here’s what you need:
1 oz. chèvre Brie (I used Trader Joe’s)
1 T. Shredded Swiss or mozzarella cheese
1 light English muffin
Olive oil non-stick cooking spray
Tomato-Squash Sauce
Red Wine Vinegar

Here’s what you do:
1. Toast English muffin in toaster, then place on baking sheet, spray with oil, top with Brie slice and pinch of shredded Swiss. Broil until cheese melts.
2. Serve with sauce and splash of vinegar.
3. Enjoy!

(Approximately 3 Points Plus for the cheese if you are doing Simply Filling; 6PP if you are straight Tracking.)

Leave a Reply

