Week 2: Ab/Squat Challenge and my first pot roast

20140202-214613.jpg

I am sitting here not watching the Super Bowl, my hubby snuggled up next to me.

We spent the morning and evening at church, worshipping our Savior together. God’s challenging me to step out of my comfort zone; tried out some of that challenge tonight by striking up conversations with some new individuals I have been praying for this last week. God would reveal that I should talk to so and so for the last few weeks, but instead of talking to them, I would stick to myself and just leave without talking to them. Chronic shyness wins… but not anymore. Going to step out of my comfort zone more often.

Then, this afternoon I turned the pot roast I made yesterday into beef stew for lunch and dinner this week. I was afraid the beef eye round would turn out too tough, but 4.5 hours on low heat was the perfect temp and time. It was an easy meal I will definitely make again.

Here’s what you need:
1.5-2 lb. beef eye round roast
2 c. Reduced sodium fat free beef broth
3 sprigs thyme
4 cloves garlic chopped
1 T olive oil
4 carrots, cut into fifths
2 big sweet onions, sliced
Package white mushrooms
A few splashes Worcestershire and soy sauces
Ground black pepper to taste

Here’s what you do:
1. Heat oil in nonstick pan over medium high heat, then brown meat on all sides.
2. Make bed of one sliced onion in bottom of crock pot then place meat on top. Pour in 1-3/4 c. broth, sauces.
3. In nonstick pan, sauté garlic, onion, mushrooms in drippings for about 5 minutes. Add thyme, pepper and rest of broth. Simmer, stirring bottom of pan to makes sure all drippings absorbed into “jus”. Pour contents of pan into crock pot, cover, cook on low for 4.5 hours.
4. Take meat out to rest for 10-15 minutes before slicing and serving. I made baked sweet potatoes and served roast, jus and veggies over top.

And…

As for the ab/squat challenge, I did six of the seven days. I am up to 35 sit-ups, 50 crunches and 70 squats. Goal is to get to 100 of each. I think I can, I think I can…

Our first wedding anniversary is two weeks from today. Mini-goal: lose another 2 pounds. Can’t help but smile because I am really starting to feel healthier with the Simply Filling plan combined with regular exercise.

How are you doing on your goals?

20140202-214639.jpg

P.s. Notice I am wearing flip flops in the above photo, not too unusual for this Lowcountry girl. But here in the Upstate we had a snow day on Wednesday. Today the high is a spring-like 63 degrees. I took a walk with the dogs and hubby and dozed on the porch swing in the sun, listening to the birdsong in the backyard.

Altogether it has been a great week!

Leave a Reply

