Banana Blueberry Oatmeal Breakfast Cups

20140209-211417.jpg

I have been known to eat these for a snack, too. Don’t let the word breakfast fool you.

I improvise with the fruit I have on hand or in the freezer, as happened with this batch: 3 frozen bananas, some frozen blueberries and a fresh, chopped banana.

Now that I think about it, I may not have needed to add the oil with all of the bananas. Great sub: some applesauce if you have it on hand.

I got the general recipe and idea from this awesome blog: http://www.momables.com/baked-oatmeal-muffins/

Here’s what you need:
2-1/2 c. old fashioned oats, uncooked
2 c. fat free skim milk
3 bananas, ripe, mashed (with juice)
1 banana, not so ripe, chopped
1/4 c. pecans, chopped
1 t. cinnamon
1/2 c. frozen or fresh blueberries
2 t. olive oil
1 T. honey (or sub some stevia)
1 t. baking powder
1 egg

Here’s what you do:
1. Combine dry ingredients in one bowl. Add in fruit.
2. Combine wet ingredients and add to mixture. Batter will be loose and wet.
3. Pour equally into muffin tins (to rim) either prepared with nonstick cooking spray or paper muffins cups.
4. Bake in preheated, 375 degree oven for 25-30 minutes.
5. Cool completely before freezing.

I eat two for a breakfast serving. I calculated these to be 3 PP (Weight Watchers) per muffin. Heat them in microwave for about 15 seconds, wrap in paper towel, add a to go cup of hot coffee, and there you go: oatmeal on the go.

P.s. The awesome poem in the background was given to me by our couples Sunday School class. While it is intended to apply to marriage, I believe it is perfect for everyone no matter one’s stage in life.

20140209-211351.jpg

P.s.s. The forecasters are calling for another major Southern Snow for our area Tuesday. Thought I would share a photo from when it snowed earlier this month. Tuesday is hubby’s birthday, too. Is it wrong for me to hope we get snowed in again??

20140209-211457.jpg

Leave a Reply

