Killer Black Beans and Brown Rice – Thanks, Rachel!

I was hungry. Really hungry.
So I started a quest from pantry to Pinterest and back to find out what I could eat – in a relatively short period of time – that would not only be good but all of the ingredients were already in my pantry.
I happened upon this recipe for Mexican Black Beans and Brown Rice from Rachel’s Pantry. (Rachel, I found your recipe on Pinterest through a search for brown rice and beans.)
Since I didn’t have ALL of the ingredients, here’s how I improvised.
(Don’t worry. You can improvise, too. You could add a can of corn instead of beans or extra tomatoes, whatev!)

My Killer Black Beans and Brown Rice – looks good, doesn’t it?

20140623-210115-75675220.jpg

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 15-oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 10-oz can “Rotel” type tomatoes and chiles
1 c. brown rice – prepare as package directs
1 small Vidalia onion, chopped
1/2 c. frozen red and green bell pepper and onion slices (like you would use for fajitas – I always keep some in the freezer)
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 T olive oil (if you must – I love my non-stick pan so I don’t use this if I don’t have to)
1 small can of green chiles (because I wanted more veggie and I love green chiles)
2 T cumin
1 T chili powder
1 t. dried cilantro (or you could use some fresh)
1/2 t salt
1/2 t Adobo seasoning
Pinch of red pepper flakes
1/2 c. water

Here’s what you do:
1. Prepare rice as directions state.
2. In large saute pan, saute onion, garlic, olive oil and pepper/onion mixture. Cook for about 5-7 minutes. Add tomatoes, green chiles, beans, seasonings and water. Bring to slow boil as you reduce – about another 10 minutes. (I cook it down so the seasonings can mesh before I add the rice.)
3. Stir in prepared rice and simmer for about a minute or two. Remove from heat – but serve it hot.

Suggestions from friends and family to make it better:
Uncle Don said to add some sausage and fried plantains for a good Cuban supper.
Another family member said to add a few hot dogs for an easy, kid-friendly meal.

It makes a great packed lunch and heats up well in the microwave. I was thinking it’d be REALLY good if you used it as Zucchini Boat stuffing.

What do you think you’d like to do with it? Besides eat it! 🙂
It has a killer flavor and yes, it did hit that hungry spot.

Leave a Reply

