Happy Fourth of July Weekend & Peach Delight!

20140705-115153-42713029.jpg

20140705-115209-42729071.jpg

20140705-115223-42743008.jpg

20140705-115404-42844959.jpg
Note: As I sat on the back porch swing this morning, sipping my coffee – lovingly prepared and served by my hubby with a little whipped cream on top like he knows I like it – I started counting my blessings. And couldn’t stop. We really are blessed by all that God has provided for us. Sure, there are things and stuff that we’d like to have but it is not necessary for us to have those things to be happy. Happiness – true inner peace – comes from knowing God and his son Jesus Christ. It’s contented trust in Him that He will give us those things our hearts desire and find pleasure and joy in – like yesterday’s adventure. Just a little porch swing philosophizing for you…

Happy Fourth of July from our family to yours!
(Yes, I know it’s the Fifth of July but these were our photos from yesterday and I wanted to share… and we’re still celebrating.)

Yesterday morning I picked a few blackberries from the brambles I found in the backyard. My husband took the weed-whacker to the overgrown area around the patch last weekend, making an open pathway for me to access the little treasures. I have the best husband and I can’t stand snakes! To find blackberries in my own backyard, after a few weeks of spying them in the ditches along our backroads, makes me incredibly happy. Picking blackberries is part of my youth and a summer tradition.

Later that day we traveled 130 miles one way south to the Lexington County Peach Festival in the tiny town of Gilbert, SC. Located a little to the east of Columbia, this festival is a South Carolina tradition. We celebrated their 56th year with a new personal favorite – a Peach Delight! According to what I was told, Blue Bell ice cream company is located in Lexington and every year they make a special batch of peach ice cream, only to be sold at this festival. You cannot buy it in stores – and I’m kinda glad. If it was readily available to me all year round, I’d be in major trouble every week at Weight Watchers! The Peach Delight is just that, a true, refreshing delight on a hot July afternoon: peach ice cream piled with fresh peach slices, whipped cream and a cherry on top. Perfect!

The Peach Tea was also wonderful – and I’d recommend both! But the Peach Delight is a MUST.

The last photo is of my hubby (the drummer) and his band mates – The East Coast Band of Spartanburg, SC. This 30-plus year old band headlined the festival. We were also blessed by several friends from around the state and south who joined us at the festival. It was a wonderful time to catch up with each other and their young and growing families. I’m so glad I get the opportunity to travel around the state and learn about new places and events. It’s a joy to travel! I hope I never grow weary of learning and experiencing new things and opportunities.

Embrace your life – and where God takes you! 🙂

Have a great July Fourth Weekend – and remember why we’re able to say “I’m proud to be an American!” (It’s amazing to think our country is “free” because of the remarkable men and women who were and are willing to lay down their life for us. Thank you doesn’t seem enough, but I say it from my heart in bountiful gratitude.)

Fourth of July
Happy 4th of July Weekend!
Leave a Reply

