Three Step Meatballs

IMG_3258.JPG

I made these meatballs for supper last night, but these are far from the kind that take hours to make. And no one need know.

My secret: pre-made meatballs with an easy homemade sauce.

I add similar seasonings to my mom’s homemade spaghetti sauce but limit the quantity of sauce to just cover the meatballs. They taste authentic, and with a nice covering of shredded mozzarella cheese, they are husband and kid pleasers, too.

Here’s what you need:
1 can no salt added basil, oregano and garlic diced tomatoes
1 bag frozen meatballs (italian or regular)
1 Vidalia onion, chopped
1 t. each of italian seasoning; garlic & herb no salt seasoning; and, ground cinnamon
Salt and pepper to taste
1 t. olive oil

Here’s what you do (in three steps)
1. In non-stick skillet, add oil, onion and seasonings, sauté until translucent (about 7-10 minutes).
2. Add the tomatoes (with the juice). Simmer for 3 minutes.
3. Add the meatballs, stir and cover. Cook for about 15 minutes on simmer (medium-low heat). Stirring infrequently to check to see how tomatoes are reducing and not sticking to bottom of pan. Serve warm. Top with cheese, optional.

Step three can also combine the sauce with meatballs and bake in covered dish in oven at 350 for 20 minutes. Just depends if you want another dish to wash. And, I modified my dish to cook it all the way on the stovetop because I am just not… washing…. Anymore… Dishes!!! (Than I have to.)

IMG_3265.JPG

I served them with my favorite veggie these days: roasted carrots. These are how they are supposed to look and they taste like candy! I put my meatballs on a bed of quinoa and it was delicious–and healthy!

IMG_3260.JPG

Enjoy!

p.s. Don’t mind my “fine china”. It was Monday night and this was as good as it was going to get!

Leave a Reply

